Skip to content Skip to navigation

Alumni Jack Dongarra receives 2021 Turing Award

The prestigious 2021 Turing Award went to Jack Dongarra, a UNM Ph.D. His Ph.D. is 1980 in Applied Mathematics under the supervision of Cleve Moler (the creator of Matlab and a former Professor in our Department that went to be the first chair of CS).

Jack Dongarra is a Distinguished Professor at University of Tennessee in the Departments of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. 

The ACM A.M. Turing Award, often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Computing,” carries a $1 million prize, with financial support provided by Google, Inc. It is named for Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing.

NYT article , if you don't have a subscription go through the UNM Library.

AMS article (AMS= American Mathematical Society)

UNM President's weekly perspective on 04/04/2022

UNM News  on 04/04/2022